Fitness / Health / Meditation

What are the 7 Energy Centers in Yoga?

What are Energy Centers in Yoga?

What are the 7 Energy Centers in Yoga. Yoga as a physical and meditative practice is performed by over 300-million people worldwide in the modern age; however, its foundations are deeply rooted in Indian Hindu mysticism and philosophy, and at its core, it is a deeply spiritual practice.

Yoga and other Eastern and Western esoteric practices purport that there is a common life-force energy within all things. Chinese traditions call this universal life force energy “Chi ” or “Qi ”, Japanese systems call it “Ki”, and in Sanskrit, common in Yoga practices, it is known as “Prana”.

Yoga and traditional Eastern medicine purport that this Prana, or life force energy, flows through the human body in various pathways, known as meridians in traditional Chinese medicine also known as the 7 Chakras .

What are Energy Centers in Yoga?

Of the many intersections of this energetic system, there are said to be seven major energy centers. The Sanskrit term for these panic centers are “Chakras”.

Chakra, in Sanskrit, roughly translates as “wheel” or “light wheel”. Although there are many energy centers in the body, Yoga, Chinese medicine, and other esoteric traditions suggest that when these seven primary Chakras are in balance, the body, mind, and spirit are healthy and in alignment and balance.

When these energy centers fall out of balance or are in depletion, the body, mind, and spirit break down, and a person will start to suffer from ailments, disease and poor physical and mental function.

So where are these mystical chakras, and what do they do? Read on to learn about what are the 7 Energy Centers in Yoga.

chakra system

What are the 7 Energy Centers in Yoga?

The Seven Chakras

Discussing the different traditions, debates and theories surrounding energy centers is exhausting. Still, we can look at the core aspects of chakras to get a basic understanding.

The seven primary chakras within the human body follow a pathway up the spine from the tailbone to the top of your head. Because human beings perceive reality within a finite spectrum of light, the chakras have corresponding colors:

  • Red
  • Orange
  • Yellow
  • Green
  • Blue
  • Indigo
  • Violet

Just like learning the colors of the rainbow in school, the easiest way to remember these colors is the mnemonic ROY G BIV.

These chakras are also attributed to various organs, as well as concepts regarding different aspects of human consciousness, experience, function and states of being.

1. Root chakra: Muladhara

The root chakra, known as Muladhara in Sanskrit, is located at the base of the spine, and the perineum and its color is an earthy red.

Your root chakra is your earth wire to this reality. It is attributed to the adrenal glands and represents your animal and sexual nature, strength of life, personal safety and raw creativity. 

The meditative concept of the sacral chakra is “I AM”.

2. Sacral Chakra: Svadhishthana

The sacral chakra, or Svadhishthana in traditional Yoga practices like Hatha, is found just below the navel and an inch or so toward the spine. 

The color of the sacral chakra is a deep orange. Svadhishthana is your conscious sexual energy and physical power, and this energy center is often attributed to the kidneys.

The meditative idea around the sacral chakra is “I FEEL”.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra: Manipura

Manipura is located at the solar plexus, just below the sternum, and as the solar reference implies, the third chakra is a bright, vibrant, sun yellow.

It is attributed to the pancreas and digestive system, Manipura is the center of your sense of self, your unique spiritual power. It governs your determination, drive and motivation.

The meditative focus of the solar plexus chakra is “I DO”.

4. Heart Chakra: Anahata

The heart chakra, located in the center of the chest, starts to address more spiritual aspects of your nature, rather than earthly ones.

Anahata is a vibrant earthy green and is, as you may have guessed, attributed to the heart itself. The heart chakra controls how you express your energy to the world and is responsible for feelings of acceptance, empathy, compassion, sincerity, and love.

The meditative attribute of the heart chakra is “I LOVE”.

5. Throat Chakra: Vishuddha

Vishuddha, the throat chakra, is said to be located in the center of the neck. This energy wheel is a stunning sky blue and is attributed to the throat functions and matters concerning the voice.

The throat chakra is concerned with communication, creativity, inspiration and other aspects of expression, interaction and connection.

The meditative expression of the Vishuddha is “I TALK”.

6. Third Eye Chakra: Ajna

In many esoteric, shamanic, and religious cultures, people have discussed having a third, spiritual eye, in which we intuitively experience and sense our reality.

The third eye chakra, known as Ajna, is an intense indigo, and is located in the center of the forehead.

It is linked to the pineal gland, a tiny, pine cone-shaped secretory neuroendocrine organ situated right near the center of the brain.

This gland is sometimes called the third eye itself. This organ has cells that resemble the back of the retina in your eyes and it react to light and dark, affecting your circadian rhythm and producing and controlling chemicals in the body like the sleep hormone melatonin.

The third eye is linked to your intuition, lucidity, trust, and spiritual sight and awakening. 

Anja is the spiritual eye you use during meditation, and the meditative aspect of this chakra is “I SEE”.

7. Crown Chakra: Sahasrara

The location of the final primary chakra, known as the crown, is traditionally shown as being located at the top of the head or just above the head. 

This chakra links us to our higher self and the spiritual world, offering guidance from the source energy of all that is, or The Dava in traditional Yoga systems.

The color of this chakra is a vivid violet and is connected to higher knowledge, consciousness, spiritual realization and fulfilment.

Sahasrara has a meditative concept of “I UNDERSTAND”.

If you are looking for quality Yoga content, as well as a one-stop-shop for affordable, quality Yoga equipment and lifestyle products, then head over to Yogamasti today.

You can find quality Yoga and spiritual development products such as:

Have you enjoyed What are the 7 Energy Centers in Yoga? If you want to get the most out of your Yoga practice and stay up-to-date with all the latest Yoga gear and lifestyle trends, then follow us here at My Free Yoga on Facebook and Instagram.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]
Avatar of Melissa Hall About Author

Hey there and Welcome! I'm Melissa and I'm the author of My Free Yoga. We started back in 2009 as a resource for people needing advice on yoga and yoga products. Today we are working hard to cover everything product related to yoga.