Health / Meditation

Chakras And Crystals for Beginners The Essential 7 Chakras

Chakras And Crystals for Beginners The 7 Chakras 1

Chakras And Crystals for Beginners The 7 Chakras. Suppose you have been a Yoga practitioner or spiritual seeker for a while. In that case, you probably know a little about the seven major energy centers, known as Chakras in ancient Sanskrit, that purportedly function symbiotically with your mind and body to keep your whole system healthy and in balance.

Crystals and chakras for beginners. Here we will provide a brief explanation for those of you who are new to energy centers. For a more in-depth look at the 7 energy centers in Yoga, Click this link.

Chakras And Crystals for Beginners The 7 Chakras

The Seven Energy Centers of The Body

Although not often philosophized about in western spiritual ideas, spiritual energy is a common concept in Eastern philosophies, especially in Asia, and in the Vedic practices of Yoga.

This universal life-force energy that exists in all things is known by different names in different cultures, including:

  • Prana in India
    • Chi or Qi in China
    • Ki in Japan
    • Pneuma in ancient Greece and more

Believers promulgate that this energy permeates all living things, and in some traditions, even seemingly solid matter.

It is written in many cultures and practices, like Yoga, that the etheric energy in the human body runs through pathways known as meridians in traditional Chinese medicine.

These pathways intercept at seven major junctions, known as chakras, which roughly translates in Sanskrit as ‘light wheels’ or ‘wheels of light’.

When the body, mind, and spirit are healthy, these chakra points work in harmony and govern your Prana in a balanced and positive way. However, when a person’s mental state, physical or spiritual body is thrown out of balance, the energy centers experience blockages, and a person’s health is compromised.

Chakras And Crystals for Beginners The 7 Chakras

Because we exist in a limited perceivable light spectrum between red and violet, it is natural that these energy centers that govern our human experience correspond with these color frequencies.

You may ask what are the 7 chakra stones. The seven chakras locations, corresponding colors and functions of each chakra, or energy center, is as follows:

7 Chakra Crystals Meaning

1. Root or base

  • The base of the spine and perineum 
    • Blood red
    • Survival, grounding, safety and stability

2. Sacral 

  • Just below the navel and a couple of inches inside the body
    • Bright orange
    • Sexuality, creativity, base emotions and earthly pleasures

3. Solar plexus

  • Located at the solar plexus at the base of the sternum
    • Solar Yellow
    • Strength, ego, self-esteem, digestion, ego and power

4. Heart

  • Located in the center of the chest or sternum
    • Deep green (sometimes aqua green)
    • Love, acceptance, compassion, healing and peace

5. Throat

  • Located in the center of the throat and vocal cords
    • Light to deep blue
    • Communication, expression, purity and kindness

6. The pineal gland or third eye

  • Located in the center of the forehead and into the pineal gland
    • Deep indigo
    • Intuition, imagination, visualization and ESP

7. The crown

  • Out from and just above the top of the skull
    • Vibrant violet
    • Knowledge, self-realization, spirituality and divine connection

Chakras And Crystals. Depending on what tradition you study, there are many more energy wells, centers and pathways throughout the body. However, when these seven major centers are in balance, they also tend to govern the rest of the system also.

People who work with these centers as healers are often known as light or energy workers and engage in ancient and contemporary practices like Reiki, Seichim, Shiatsu, acupressure and other modalities that focus on energy flow.

There are many things can throw your energy centers out of balance, including:

  • Physical injury
    • Childhood and adult trauma
    • Poor diet and sedentary lifestyle
    • Stress
    • Self-abuse
    • Drug and alcohol misuse and more

As well as seeing an energy worker, you can also work on your energy system yourself through hands-on healing like self reiki, for example. Diet, exercise, Yoga, mindfulness practices, breathwork, and advanced mediation practices are also ways to help you self govern and unblock your chakras and crystals.

Another ancient method of balancing and connecting your energy centers, used in cultures worldwide, is the use of crystals and precious stones.

While everyone may develop different intuitive choices as to what type of stones their chakras respond positively to, experienced Yogis and spiritual practitioners share some common ideas around which stones correspond with the chakra system.

Chakras and Crystals

Below we will list the Sanskrit names for each chara, and some stones commonly attributed to each chakra as a guide for you to seek which ones resonate with you at this time.

Quite often, though not always, the corresponding crystals will share a similar color or shade as the ones mentioned above in the chakra explanations.

Chakras And Crystals for Beginners The 7 Chakras 1

Muladhara: Root Chakra

  • Bloodstone
    • Red jasper
    • Red tiger’s eye
    • Obsidian
    • Smokey Quartz
    • Jet
    • Black tourmaline

Svadhishthana: Sacral Chakra

  • Carnelian
    • Orange aventurine
    • Peach moonstone
    • Orange calcite

Manipura: Solar Plexus Chakra

Anahata: Heart Chakra

  • Rose quartz
    • Agate
    • Green aventurine
    • Rhodochrosite
    • Malachite

Vishuddha: Throat Chakra

  • Blue lace agate

Ajna: Third Eye or Pineal Chakra

Sahasrara: Crown Chakra

  • Clear quartz
    • Moonstone
    • Fluorite
    • Amethyst
    • Labradorite
    • Selenite

Chakras And Crystals. There are several ways you can use precious stones to help maintain balance in your chakras.

You can either lay down and place one of each of your assigned stones on your actual chakra points and meditate, focusing your positive, balanced intentions on each one sequentially.

You can also carry your stones in a small pouch in your pocket, keeping in the back of your mind that your stones are there to keep you focused on your mental and spiritual states, balancing your chakras as you go about your day.

You can also lay out your stones in order while meditating, holding each chakra’s corresponding stone while focusing on releasing and balancing each energy center one at a time.

If you would like to purchase some crystals and increase your Chakras And Crystals with precious stones of your own, then why not visit Yogamasti? Their store has an extensive selection of spiritual jewelry and crystals that can help you better connect to your energy system and complement your Yoga or spiritual practice.

If you would like to learn more ways of enhancing and evolving your Yoga practice like this article of Chakras And Crystals, why not follow us here at My Free Yoga on Facebook and Instagram.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]
Avatar of Melissa Hall About Author

Hey there and Welcome! I'm Melissa and I'm the author of My Free Yoga. We started back in 2009 as a resource for people needing advice on yoga and yoga products. Today we are working hard to cover everything product related to yoga.